#devongirlscan #thisgirlcan

bikes

When I tried a taster session for a local Active Mums Bike Ride, I never thought six months down the line I would be leading the sessions on my own! However I caught the cycling bug and with the added bonus of bike and trailer hire included, meaning the kids tag along and are contained whilst I exercise – I was hooked! For once, I didn’t care what others thought of me, I was doing this for me, and it felt GREAT!

 

I find having that responsibility each week, of having others rely on me to take them for a ride, is great for giving me the motivation to get started with my day. Getting to enjoy the beautiful Devon countryside, and push myself up it’s many hills, are a great end to the week.

Active Mums is a part of Active Devon, the County Sports Partnership for Devon who are passionate about finding innovative ways of getting everyone in Devon Active for Life. Research reveals a huge difference in the number of men and women playing sport. And it’s not because females don’t want to get active. Millions of women and girls are afraid to exercise because of fear of judgement.

Developed by Sport England, This Girl Can is a celebration of active women who are doing their thing no matter how well they do it, how they look bikesor even how red their face gets. They want to help women overcome the fear of judgement that is stopping too many women and girls from joining in.

Active Devon have started their own campaign – #devongirlscan I’ll be sharing my photos regularly on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. Why don’t you join in too? Let’s do this together and show the world that #THISGIRLCAN !

 

Leave a Reply

